Arizona Gun Laws
Subject/LawLong gunsHandgunsRelevant StatutesNotes
State permit required to purchase?NoNo
Firearm registration required?NoNoARS 13-3101(B)State law requires compliance with the National Firearms Act, but the state maintains no registry and imposes no additional requirements.
Assault weapon prohibition or restrictions?NoNo
Magazine Capacity Restriction?NoNo
Owner license required?NoNo
Permit required for concealed carry?N/ANoSB 1108In Arizona, a person over age 21 may legally carry a concealed firearm or deadly weapon without a permit within the state, except for certain prohibited locations, and must disclose the fact to a law enforcement officer if questioned. Although no longer required, a shall-issue CCW permit is still available and has certain advantages, including reciprocity with many other states having CCW laws.[9]
Permit required for open carry?NoNoMay carry openly without permit/license. Must be at least 18 years old to open carry.
State preemption of local restrictions?PartialPartialARS 13-3108Explained below
NFA weapons restricted?NoNoARS 13-3101Law makes possession and use illegal but then exempts said weapons and devices if they’re registered in compliance with federal law.
Shall certify?YesYesARS 13-3121Shall certify within 60 days.
Peaceable journey laws?NoNoFederal rules observed.
Background checks required for private sales?NoNoOn May 1, 2017, Governor Ducey signed a bill that would prevent localities from requiring background checks for private sales.[10]
Lose Right to Possession Indefinitely under Mental Health laws?YesYesARS 36-540; ARS 13-925[11]A person found persistently or acutely disabled or a danger to self or to others automatically becomes a prohibited firearm possessor indefinitely, with notification to the Arizona Dept. of Public Safety. Restoration of gun possession rights requires the court-ordered individual to petition to restore his/her rights, and provide clear and convincing evidence from a psychiatrist willing to testify to all of the following: 1) the person is no longer a danger to others or persistently and acutely disabled, 2) that the circumstances that led to the original order, adjudication or finding are no longer in effect, 3) that the patient is not likely to act in a manner that is dangerous to public safety, and 4) that restoring the patient’s right to possess a firearm is not contrary to the public interest. The burden of proof (clear and convincing evidence) is on the court-ordered person, not the state.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here