California Attorney General Xavier Becerra wants gun owners affected by recent changes in the law to know that the clock is ticking.
This week Becerra’s Department of Justice issued a reminder that all “bullet button assault weapons” must be registered with the state before midnight on June 30 and has been running a countdown clock on the department’s website on firearms regulations. The registration, required by changes in state regulations from two measures signed into law in 2016, applies to those with lawfully possessed firearms newly classified as an assault weapon without a fixed magazine, including those with so-called bullet buttons.
Those electing to register their firearms have to pay a $15 fee and submit at least four photos of each gun to include close-ups of the bullet button and both sides of the receiver through an online process.
Brandon Combs, president of the California-based Firearms Policy Coalition, told Guns.com that Becerra and state lawmakers are offering law-abiding gun owners little real alternative to comply.
“The State of California has made gun ownership a Hobson’s choice, wherein one must either accept registration that may yet let to a confiscatory ban like Prop 63 and heavy-handed law enforcement or waive fundamental rights by not having guns at all,” said Combs.
Combs argues the state has built a scheme that criminalizes non-compliance, with an ultimate goal of civilian disarmament, “and they’re working towards that by making gun ownership so risky and burdensome that many people will forego exercising their rights, and others will choose to take the risk of non-compliance – and if they’re caught, they lose their guns and right.”
George Lee, a San Francisco Bay-area attorney specializing in firearms law told Guns.com that registration is effectively “what we call generational confiscation,” going on to explain that once a firearm is registered as a so-called “assault weapon,” it can’t be transferred, handed down or held in a trust.
“Once you die, it simply must be surrendered, rendered inoperable, or taken out of state,” explained Lee. “In other words, it’s simply a long-term confiscation.”
As for Becerra, who just picked up a win in the state primary, he is up for reelection in November and is pushing his “tough on guns” record in his campaign.
Also, there’s some interesting food for thought with how the gun industry is being hung out to dry by corporate America. What’s even more interesting, though, is that Americans have bought more guns in the past two months than even our military has on hand. According to the FBI, May was a solid month in gun sales, with over two million background checks being run according to the FBI.
Plus, it’s always good to keep track of anti-gun Leftist Michael Bloomberg, who has pledged to spend $80 million – that’s $80 MILLION, folks – in an attempt to sway the election in November.
That means on average, he’s going to spend roughly $4.2 million anti-gun dollars a week. If this isn’t a direct assault on our rights, then what is? Make sure you are armed, informed and involved this election cycle. Our 2nd amendment rights depend on it!
REGISTRATION ENDS AT 11:59:59 P.M. ON JUNE 30, 2018.
Gun Owners of California fought tooth and nail against legislation outlawing bullet buttons and the expansion of the “assault weapon” definition, nonetheless, we strongly urge compliance with the law. Remember, we are law-abiding. If we don’t like the laws, rather than break them, we will work diligently to change them – in the courts, legislatively – and through the elections.
In 2016, Assembly Bill 1135 and Senate Bill 880 were signed by Governor Brown and require that any person who, from January 1, 2001, to December 31, 2016, lawfully possessed an assault weapon that does not have a fixed magazine – including those weapons with an ammunition feeding device that can be readily removed from the firearm with the use of a tool (commonly referred to as a bullet-button) – must register the firearm before July 1, 2018 (extended from the original date of January 1, 2018).
For information on what is specifically required to register firearms as “assault weapons” click HERE to be linked to the Department of Justice website.
DON’T WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE!
REGISTRATION ENDS AT 11:59:59 P.M. ON JUNE 30, 2018
- Anyone choosing not to register must either convert their firearms to comply with the new laws/regulations or disassemble them so that they are non-functional.
- All applications for assault weapon registration must be submitted by the deadline. No applications will be accepted thereafter.
- Read the requirements in advance of the deadline (link above); photos and proof of residency are among the items required. Don’t be caught at the last minute without adequate information to submit.
- Registration requires creating a California Firearms Application Reporting System (CFARS) account (https://cfars.doj.ca.gov/login.do)
- If history is any indicator, it’s important to register sooner rather than later. The Department of Justice website has been known to malfunction when deadlines approach. Be aware – if there is a problem, it will be the REGISTRANT’S fault – not DOJ’s.